Fees & Guidelines

Pottawatomie County Register of Deeds Fee Schedule


A portion of the following fee schedule is established by Kansas Statutes and a portion by a resolution of the Pottawatomie County Commissioners.

Fees Fee Type
$18.00 To record the first page of Deeds, Mortgages, and Other Instruments of Writing. (Not to exceed Legal Size 8 ½" X 14")
$14.00 To record each additional page. (Not to exceed Legal Size 8 ½" X 14")
$17.00 To record the 1st page of a release or assignment of a real estate mortgage per book and page. (Not to exceed Legal Size 8 ½" X 14") $13.00 to record each additional page of release or assignment.
$14.00 To file liens for materials and services under K.S.A. 58-201, and amendments thereto.
$15.00 + $1 / page
after 10 pages
To file an original financing statement.
$15.00 + $1 / page
after 10 pages
To file an amended financing statement.
$800.00 Unlimited
$400.00 Limited
Annual Website Document Search Fee.
$15.00 To search financing statement. (per debtor name).
$1.00 Copy request fee per page of any filed financing statement or statement of assignment.
$10.00 To certify any instrument of record and for acknowledgement of signature + .50/page.
$.50 Photocopies per page.
$1.50
+ $.50 / page
Fax per page. (incoming or outgoing).
$15.00 Photocopies of plats and oversize documents.
$29.00 / page
Recording Large Plats.
$29.00/page 
 
Recording Short 8.5x14 Plats.
$18.00
+ copy
1st page of Certificate of Survey 8.5 x 14. (1 copy @ $5.00)
$14.00 Additional pages of Certificate of Survey 8.5 x 14.
$29.00 / page
+ copy
Large Survey over 8.5 x 14. (1 copy @ $15.00)
$29.00 Filing Notices of Tax Liens under the Internal Revenue Laws of US.
$25.00 Hourly rate for researching. (1 hour minimum)
$10.00 Preprogrammed Reports.
$65.00 Filing State Tax Lien Release + $18 for each additional page.
.10% of the
principal debt
Mortgage Registration Fee.

If name of signer or signers to any instrument to be recorded are not plainly typed or printed under the signature, the Register of Deeds shall charge and collect a fee of $1 per signature in addition to all other fees.

Filing Guide


  • Prepare documents legibly and according to the statutory requirements of the State of Kansas.
  • We can only record original instruments - do not send copies.
  • Include the correct fee and applicable taxes.
  • Make sure the documents are properly signed, acknowledged, and notarized.
  • If the document includes a legal description make sure it is complete and compatible with all initial recordings.
  • Identify all schedules and exhibits clearly.
  • Properly title, date, and execute the document.
  • Include the name and address of the preparer and a return address.
  • Deeds must be accompanied by a Real Estate Questionnaire or show a K.S.A. exemption number on the face of the deed.
  • Assignments must have the address of the assignee.
A Mortgage Registration Fee Affidavit is required to claim an exemption.